TCES Board


President: Prof Sarah Cartmell

Prof Sarah Cartmell

University of Manchester

Sarah’s research is in the area of healthcare technology. Her group develops new biomedical materials, new medical devices and tissue engineering approaches in the area of orthopaedic and woundcare.

She has been an active member of TCES for nearly 20 years. She was TCES membership secretary 2006-2011 and TCES secretary role from 2011-2021, being elected President in July 2021.

Treasurer: Dr Stephen Richardson

Dr Stephen Richardson

University of Manchester

Steve’s research focusses on multipotent and pluripotent stem cell differentiation, biomaterial interaction and application in musculoskeletal tissue engineering, with a focus on cartilaginous tissues such as the intervertebral disc. He has been attending TCES meetings since 2002 and has been TCES treasurer since 2014.

Membership Secretary: Prof Felicity Rose

Dr Felicity Rose

University of Nottingham

Felicity Rose is a Professor in Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering at Nottingham.  Her research interests are in biomaterials development to direct mammalian cell behaviour with a focus on bone and muscosal tissues.  She has been involved with TCES as a committee member for a number of yearsj and more recently as membership secretary.

Awards Coordinator and Webmaster: Dr Nicholas Evans

University of Southampton

Nick works on drug delivery and mechanobiology applied to bone and skin repair. He has been attending TCES events since 2005 and currently co-ordinates TCES Net, TCES awards and looks after the website.

Travel Bursary Coordinator: Prof James Phillips

Dr James Phillips

University College London

James is a nervous system tissue engineer and uses cell, drug, gene and biomaterials therapies for regenerative medicine and modelling application in the CNS and peripheral nerves. He is a TCES Committee member with particular responsibility for the Travel Bursary scheme.

Conference Liason: Dr Lilia Araida Hidalgo-Bastida

Lilia Araida Hidalgo-Bastida

Manchester Metropolitan University

Araida Hidalgo’s expertise is on regenerative medicine for skeletal and cardiovascular applications, and diabetes; her team works on bioreactors and micro-tomography for 2D and 3D in vitro models, in addition to biomedical materials (polymers, extra cellular matrix hydrogels and graphene) as delivery vehicles for stem cells, growth factors and/or anti-microbials.

Araida Hidalgo was previously the awards coordinator for TCES and currently has the role of conference liaison, after she hosted TCES2017 @ Manchester Metropolitan University.

External Relations: Prof John Haycock

University of Sheffield

John’s research interest is on development of medical device and cell therapy approaches for repairing nerve injury, plus 3D in vitro models of nerve and skin.  He has a particular interest in biological imaging for 3D models including technology development of confocal, 2-photon, time-resolved and light sheet microscopies.  John is TCES committee member, organised the TCES Sheffield meeting, and runs the annual TCES imaging award.  He currently has a role for external engagement.

Board Member: Prof Nicholas Forsyth

Prof Nicholas Forsyth

Keele University

Nick, Dean of Research and Professor of Stem Cell Biology at Keele University has been a Council member since 2015. Nick’s research interests span a wide range of regenerative medicine aspects including cell therapy, fundamental stem cell biology (adult and pluripotent), biomaterials, and culture conditions with a focus on respiratory disorders, tendon repair, and diabetes

Postdoctoral Representative: Dr Jonathan Dawson

Dr Jonathan Dawson

University of Southampton

Jon Dawson is a Principal Investigator and EPSRC Research Fellow at the University of Southampton developing nanoclays for regenerative applications. He is currently serving on the TCES committee and ECR representative.

Industrial Liaison: Dr Hadi Mirmalek-Sani

Dr Hadi Mirmalek-Sani

Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult

Hadi has a background in stem cell biology and tissue engineering but is now the Programme Manager for viral vector (gene therapy) manufacturing at the UK’s Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult, jointly overseeing their in-house VV development programme. HMS’s role as Industrial Liaison is as a bridge to industry, and through his role at the Catapult, to support the TCES community in translation of their work into the clinic.

Board Member: Dr Lisa White

Image of Lisa WhiteUniversity of Nottingham

Lisa White’s expertise is in biomaterials for regenerative medicine applications with a particular focus on developing extracellular matrix biomaterials for bone and nervous tissue applications.  Lisa has a keen interest in the use of supercritical fluids for biomaterials development and her team also develop polymeric microparticle systems for growth factor and protein delivery and to aid cell engraftment.

Board Member: Dr Vanessa Hearnden

Vanessa Hearnden

University of Sheffield

Vanessa Hearnden is lecturer in Tissue Engineering and Biomaterials at the University of Sheffield. Her research looks at soft tissue wound healing, with a focus on the regenerative properties of adipose tissues and its effects on scarring and wound healing.

Vanessa Hearnden was elected to the TCES committee in 2018 and has an interest in connecting our vibrant research community while promoting the work of early career researchers in the field.

Postgrad rep: Dr Lynsey Steel

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is lynsey-Prof-photo.pngUniversity of Manchester

Lynsey is a PhD student on the University of Manchester’s CDT in Regenerative Medicine, and is investigating the cellular mechanism of stem cells in response to electrical stimulation and the extent to which this is affected by reactive oxygen species. She is the postgraduate representative on the TCES committee, and is involved in our social media presence

President Emeritus: Prof Mark P Lewis

Prof Mark Lewis

Loughborough University